You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vodafone Warriors fullback Sam Tomkins is reunited with brother Joel in England's Four Nations squad. Image |

Vodafone Warriors fullback Sam Tomkins is one of six NRL-contracted players named in England’s squad for the Four Nations in New Zealand and Australia starting later this month.

The others in the 24-man party are South Sydney’s NRL premiership-winning front rowers George and Tom Burgess, Canterbury-Bankstown’s James Graham and St George Illawarra’s Mike Cooper and Gareth Widdop. Sam Burgess' rugby league career ended - for now at least - with yesterday's NRL grand final.

Also returning to the England team is Tomkins’ brother Joel, back in rugby league with Wigan after a stint in rugby union.

Coach Steve McNamara has named Sam Tomkins’ ex-Wigan Warriors team-mate Sean O’Loughlin as England’s new captain. He replaces Leeds Rhinos veteran Kevin Sinfield who announced his retirement from international football earlier this year.

The squad includes 13 survivors from last year’s Rugby League World Cup.

McNamara has drafted in nine uncapped players - Daryl Clark from Castleford Tigers, Elliott Whitehead (Catalans Dragons), Joe Westerman from Hull FC, Josh Hodgson, who will be joining NRL side Canberra Raiders from Hull KR later in the year, Cooper, Warrington’s Stefan Ratchford and the Wigan trio of Joe Burgess, Dan Sarginson and Matty Smith.

Three players – St Helens hooker James Roby, Wigan’s Michael McIlorum and Warrington’s Ben Westwood – weren’t considered due to scheduled surgery. Brisbane’s Jack Reed and Parramatta’s Lee Mossop are also unavailable following recent surgery.

"We spent a long time selecting this squad and there were some close calls with a lot of competition for places,” said McNamara.

“But ultimately we chose the players who will give us the best chance of winning a major tournament in Australasia for the first time since 1990, when Great Britain defeated New Zealand.

"We have a tremendous challenge in front of us but I know the players have the desire, appetite and quality to do English rugby league proud in this tournament.

“Sean O’Loughlin is a great leader and has been left a positive legacy from Kevin (Sinfield). He is excited and honoured to be captaining the national set-up and will impose his experience and qualities on the rest of the group. In particular, his attention detail and work ethic will inspire the players both on and off the field.”

The European-based players will leave England on October 14 en route to their pre-tournament camp on the Gold Coast, Queensland.

England starts its Four Nations campaign on Saturday, October 25 when it takes on Toa Samoa at the Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

Their other group matches are:

Sunday, November 2

  Australia v England

  AMI Park, Melbourne

Saturday, November 8

  New Zealand v England

  Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Saturday, November 15

  Four Nations grand final

  Westpac Stadium, Wellington


George Burgess, South Sydney Rabbitohs

Joe Burgess, Wigan Warriors

Tom Burgess, South Sydney Rabbitohs

Josh Charnley, Wigan Warriors

Daryl Clark, Castleford Tigers

Mike Cooper, St George Illawarra Dragons

Liam Farrell, Wigan Warriors

Brett Ferres, Huddersfield Giants

James Graham, Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

Ryan Hall, Leeds Rhinos

Zak Hardaker, Leeds Rhinos

Chris Hill, Warrington Wolves

Josh Hodgson, Hull KR

Sean O’Loughlin (captain), Wigan Warriors

Stefan Ratchford, Warrington Wolves

Dan Sarginson, Wigan Warriors

Michael Shenton, Castleford Tigers

Matty Smith, Wigan Warriors

Joel Tomkins, Wigan Warriors

Sam Tomkins, Vodafone Warriors

Kallum Watkins, Leeds Rhinos

Joe Westerman, Hull FC

Elliott Whitehead, Catalans Dragons

Gareth Widdop, St George Illawarra Dragons

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners