You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Team photo with ball boys and girls. Junior Warriors v Junior Titans. NYC Holden Cup U20s Rugby League. Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland. New Zealand. Sunday 31 August 2014. Photo: Andrew Cornaga/

Coach Stacey Jones will have eight players with 2013 NYC finals experience at his disposal when the Vodafone Junior Warriors put their impressive play-offs record on the line in their elimination qualifying final against the Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium on Saturday (3.00pm kick-off local time; 5.00pm NZT).

Five of the backline and three of the starting forwards were all involved in last year’s campaign which finished with defeat by Penrith in the grand final.

This is the seventh straight season the Vodafone Junior Warriors have reached the post-season phase of the competition having captured the premiership twice in 2010 and 2011, lost the 2013 grand final and collected the minor premiership in 2011.

They’ve played a total of 16 finals matches winning 11 and losing five. No other club can compete with the Vodafone Junior Warriors’ record.

Canberra and Canterbury-Bankstown have been in the finals five times but failed to qualify this year while the Roosters are in the play-offs for the fifth time this season. The Raiders have played in 14 finals matches, winning eight and losing six, the Bulldogs have won only four of 11 play-offs and the Roosters just two of nine.

Brisbane is appearing in only its fourth finals series this time while Parramatta and Newcastle have made the top eight for only the second time.

Of the Vodafone Junior Warriors’ finals squad last year, Metia Lisati and Ngataua Hukatai are on the wings tomorrow while Solomone Kata is in the centres and Tuimoala Lolohea and Mason Lino again team up in the halves. Starting in the forwards are props Sam Lisone and Kouma Samson while Adam Tuimavave-Gerrard is in the second row.

Of the other 10 players in the 18-man squad named, centre Ken Maumalo, hooker Kurt Robinson and interchange forward Toafofoa Sipley made their NYC debuts last year but didn’t feature in the finals campaign.

The first-time NYC players this time are fullback Brad Abbey, second rower Marata Niukore, loose forward Jazz Tevaga and interchange players Ofahiki Ogden, Nathaniel Roache, Bunty Afoa and James Bell.


2008   St George Illawarra  Won  47-20

           Penrith  Won  38-4

           Brisbane  Lost  26-28

2009   St George Illawarra  Lost  24-48

2010   Manly  Won  25-22

           Canterbury-Bankstown  Won  23-16

           South Sydney  Won  42-28 (grand final)

2011   Newcastle  Won  54-6

           Canterbury-Bankstown  Won  64-0

           North Queensland  Won  31-30 (grand final)

2012   Canberra  Lost  38-39

           Sydney Roosters  Lost  10-26

2013   South Sydney  Won  20-18

           Sydney Roosters  Won  58-6

           Canterbury-Bankstown  Won  54-38

           Penrith  Lost  30-42 (grand final)            


Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners