You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rotorua Boys haka before Rotorua Boys v Manurewa High, National Secondary Schools Rugby League Tournament, Day 3 , Bruce Pulman Park, Auckland, 3 September 2014. Photo: David Joseph /

Defending champions Kelston Boys High remain unbeaten after pool play at the NZRL National Secondary Schools Tournament, but had to survive another scare from crosstown rivals Otahuhu College to progress to tomorrow's semi-finals.

The West Aucklanders found themselves 25-10 down at halftime, but clawed their way back to edge ahead 32-31 by the finish to avoid the upset.

They had a similar shock on the tournament's opening day, conceding the first three tries to Manurewa High, before scrambling to victory.

Kelston face upstarts Aorere College in the premiership's knockout stage, but their rivals were somewhat fortunate to scrape through, after ousting 2013 runners-up Mt Albert Grammar yesterday.

With a head-to-head countback advantage over both their pool opponents, Aorere were dumped 30-12 by Southern Cross Campus in a crossover encounter and will need to up their game if they are to compete with the titleholders at the next stage.

St Paul's College also moved into the semis with an unbeaten record, squeaking past Westlake Boys High 22-18 in their final pool match.

They will face Manurewa, who advanced with a 26-14 win over Rotorua Boys High.

Aranui High, Papatoetoe High and Wesley College take their unbeaten records into the development grade semi-finals, joined by Northcote (2-1).

Aranui face Wesley, while Papatoetoe take on Northcote.

Tournament homepage


Bruce Pulman Park, Papakura

Wednesday, September 3


Western Springs College 22 (Ahotau Kali 2, Jamie Dennis & John Allen tries; Nikora Ngaropo 3 goals) Papakura HS 6 (Jordan Morrison try; Tipene Tuirirangi goal); HT: 10-6

Manurewa HS 26 (Erin Clark 3 & Nanga Iloa 2 tries; Iloa 3 goals) Rotorua BHS 14 (Viliami Tosi 2 & Te Ra Whata tries; Nerehana Tarei goal); HT: 18-6

Kelston BHS 32 (Zion Ioka 3, James Mafi, Onosai Nanai & Aidan Taua tries; Ioka 4 goals) Otahuhu College 31 (Koli Oneone 2, Joseph Afemuli, Avia Aiolupo & Phoenix Hunt tries; Komiti Vetemotu 5 goals); HT: 10-25

Southern Cross Campus 30 (Fuiva Takitaki 2, Jan Sepuloni, Samiuela Lauhingoa & Tevita Veituna tries; Sepuloni 5 goals) Aorere College 12 (Lennox Patuki & Sila Taufa tries; Frost Mika 2 goals); HT: 18-6

Tokoroa HS 20 (Cleveland Poko 2 & Toru Atua Tearoa-Natua tries; Manuia Alaelua 4 goals) Mt Albert Grammar 10 (Javvier Pitovao & Mattais Heimuli tries; Bostyn Hakaraia goal); HT: 6-6

St Paul's College 22 (Finau Payne, Beau Cordtz, Xavier Rice & Sese Fe'iloaki tries; Cordtz 3 goals)Westlake BHS 18 (Pierce Bryers, Hemi McCarthy & Brad Leuila tries; Harry Claverley 3 goals); HT: 12-6


Northcote College 22 (Josh Farrant, Bronson Kapi, Sione Talilotu & Broderick Paraka tries; Nat Law goals) Greymouth HS 0; HT: 6-0

Aranui HS 42 (Aki Tolo 2, Diamond Nanai, Cyrus Timo Latu, Tristan Jackson, Junior Peneli & Joshua Ifopo tries; Peneli 7 goals) Pakuranga College 22 (Tautalanoa Vanisi 2, Luke Armiger & Morgan White-Chambers tries; Armiger 3 goals); HT: 18-12

Mt Roskill Grammar 34 (Sonny Junior Seumalo, Vita Tuitupou, Robin Faumuina, Trent Fullen-Burry, Reginald Lino-Sciasca & Tom Ale tries; Lino-Sciasca 4 & Ken Fa'aoso goals) Taita College 10(Jarvis Tuia-Mendoza & Ezra McCulloch tries); HT: 6-10

Papatoetoe HS 46 (Nuku Ngere 2, Kelepi Holi, Walter Fifita, Iese Aiga, Robert Meleisea, Nathan Su'a & Amandale Faafou tries; Aiga 4 goals) Francis Douglas College 10 (Josh Perrett & Jonathan Fidow tries; Eli Kneepkens goal); HT: 22-4

Whangarei BHS 48 (Shane Paraha 4, Manaaki Tawhiwhirangi, Michael Williams, James Cherrington & Steele Kake tries; Journee Cassidy 6 goals) Rosehill College 8 (Jayden Diaz & Sione Ahokovi tries); HT: 16-8

Wesley College 18 (Nathan Folau, Falani Lovo & Lopeti Mafi tries; Wetere Pompey 2 & Aria Cerei goals) One Tree Hill College 6 (Michael Joe try; Barnes Vila goal); HT: 12-6

Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners