You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The winners ... Vodafone NYC Player of the Year Michael Sio, DEWALT NYC Clubman of the Year Viliami Kaveinga and TNT NYC Young Player of the Year Tuimoala Lolohea.

Ever-present Vodafone Junior Warriors utility Michael Sio claimed the supreme Vodafone NYC Player of the Year title and the coveted Sonny Fai Medal at the clubs annual NYC awards dinner at the SKYCITY Convention Centre on Wednesday night.

The 20-year-old Marist Saints junior is one of only three players who have appeared in each of the Vodafone Junior Warriors matches so far

during their 2013 campaign.

Hell line up for the 26th time in tomorrow nights sudden-death semi-final against the Sydney Roosters at Allianz Stadium (5.15pm kick-off local time; 7.15pm NZT).

In a poignant moment in front of 300 guests including his team-mates and family, the St Pauls College educated Sio was presented with the Sonny Fai Medal by one of Fais closest team-mates Manu Vatuvei.

Sio has played more minutes almost 1500 than any other forward in the team and is the top tackler with 670 so far, an average of almost 27 a game.

Usually a second rower, Sio has spent virtually the entire season at hooker and was also pressed into service as captain when regular leader David Bhana stepped up to play for the Auckland Vulcans in the New South Wales in the last third of the season.

He was one of six players vying for the premier award alongside Bhana, fullback David Fusitua, standoff Tuimoala Lolohea, utility Eko Malu and prop James Taylor. Previous winners of the title have been Kevin Locke (2008), Elijah Taylor (2009), Nafe Seluini (2010), John Palavi (2011) and Peta Hiku (2012).

Five rookies were in contention for the TNT NYC Young Player of the Year Lolohea, Metia Lisati, Sam Lisone, Viliami Kaveinga and Toafofoa Sipley. The award went to Kelston Boys High School student Lolohea, another Marist Saints junior who has also played every match this year. The teams top try-scorer with 18 so far, he has scored a total of 118 points. He joins previous recipients Elijah Taylor (2008), Ben Henry (2009), Carlos Tuimavave (2010), Siliva Havili (2011) and David Bhana (2012).

The DEWALT NYC Clubman of the Year featured Taylor, Kaveinga, Lisati and prop Katamiro Atera as the finalists. It was won by Mangere East Hawks junior Kaveinga (19) who, like Tuimoala, will be eligible for NYC football again next year. He joins former winners Kurt Tehira (2008), Kurt Kara (2009), Charlie Gubb (2010), Donald Tony (2011) and Toka Likiliki (2012).

The dinner was held on the eve of the Vodafone Junior Warriors departure to Sydney ahead of their NYC semi-final against the Roosters.

As well as Vatuvei, fellow NRL players Konrad Hurrell, Suaia Matagi and Pita Godinet attended the dinner along with NRL football staff including head coach Matthew Elliott. Also present was Vodafone Warriors ambassador Sir Peter Leitch.

Vodafone Junior Warriors captain David Bhana made a special presentation on behalf of the club to NYC coach John Ackland, who is finishing up this year, while departing players were also acknowledged.

Featuring on the evenings entertainment programme were the KRASH Dance Crew, Stella and Moorhouse.
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners