You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
North Queenslands former Vodafone Warrior Brent Tate (pictured) and Canberras Auckland-born Josh Papalii have today been named in the Australian Prime Ministers XIII to play Papua New Guinea at Kalabond Oval in Kokopo on Sunday, September 29.

Of the 10 teams whose NRL seasons are now over, the Vodafone Warriors and Penrith are the only two without a player in the squad.

Despite playing State of Origin for Queensland last year and being 18th man this year, Jacob Lillyman missed out on Australias train-on squad from which the Prime Ministers XIII was selected. Penriths towering Tim Grant, a New South Wales Origin representative last year, was also bypassed.

The team includes several players expected to feature in Australias squad for the Rugby League World Cup in the United Kingdom and France in October-November.

The side is: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels); Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons), Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys), Josh Morris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Kevin Gordon (Gold Coast Titans); Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Aidan Sezer (Gold Coast Titans); Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys); Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders); Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos). Interchange: Gavin Cooper (North Queensland Cowboys), Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos), David Shillington (Canberra Raiders), Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs). 18th man: Aiden Tolman (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs).

North Queensland Cowboys co-captains Matt Scott and Johnathan Thurston have also been added to the Kangaroos World Cup train-on squad.

Prime Ministers XIII players will attend a team medical and training session in Sydney on Thursday, September 19, at Allianz Stadium starting at 10.30am.

The team will then assemble in Cairns on Thursday, September 26, before travelling to Papua New Guinea.

Kangaroos coach Tim Sheens will accompany the Laurie Daley-coached Prime Ministers XIII team to Papua New Guinea with the match viewed as an important selection trial for the 2013 Rugby League World Cup.

The full Australian train-on squad is: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos), Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos), Ben Hannant (Brisbane Broncos), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons), Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels), David Shillington (Canberra Raiders), Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders), Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders), Josh McCrone (Canberra Raiders), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), David Taylor (Gold Coast Titans), Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans), Kevin Gordon (Gold Coast Titans), Aidan Sezer (Gold Coast Titans), Albert Kelly (Gold Coast Titans), Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Nate Myles (Gold Coast Titans), Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys), James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys), Gavin Cooper (North Queensland Cowboys), Josh Morris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Aiden Tolman (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs).
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners