Mount Albert Grammar School handed Otahuhu College its first defeat in College Rugby Leagues Warriors Cup championship on Wednesday.

Playing at home, Otahuhu went into the third-round clash leading the competition after beating Kelston Boys High School and Westlake Boys High School but ultimately found Mount Albert Grammar too tough to combat.

The Steve Price-coached Mount Albert Grammar side, encouraged by a win over Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate last week, had a 10-0 halftime lead and scored the only points of the second half to beat Otahuhu 14-0. Outstanding for MAGS was Vodafone Warriors development player Nathaniel Roache; playing at fullback, he scored two of his teams three tries.

While MAGS was stitching together its second win to join Otahuhu on four points, rugby leagues pre-eminent secondary schools force St Pauls College was held to a draw for the second week running.

Last week it finished locked 6-6 with Kelston Boys High School and the score-line read 18-18 at fulltime against Westlake Boys High School this time. It was a close-run affair, St Pauls leading 14-0 at halftime only to run into all sorts of strife as Westlake stormed back into the contest with 18 second half points only.

The result creates a three-way tie at the top. St Pauls, with a win and two draws, leads on points for and against from MAGS and Otahuhu. Kelston is fourth on three points after beating Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate 32-6.

In the third-tier competition the Warriors Bowl there was a highly unusual score-line at halftime between Rutherford College and Tangaroa College. It read 32-1 in Tangaroas favour, James Nonutonu with the field goal for Rutherford. He later scored his sides only try in a 5-38 loss.


Warriors Cup

Kelston Boys High School 32 (Polima Siaki 2, Zion Ioka 2, Sala Falelua Malio, Faitotoa Faitotoa tries; Zion Ioka 4 goals).

Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate 6 (Paula Sopilano try; Paula Sopliano goal).

Halftime: 12-6 Kelston.

St Pauls College 18 (Bradley Abbey 2, Gerar Vili, Paul Nuia tries; Bradley Abbey goal).

Westlake Boys High School 18 (Troy Leo, Nathan Tuala, Wiremu McCarthy tries; Ben McIntyre 3 goals).

Halftime: 14-0 St Pauls.

Otahuhu College 0.

Mount Albert Grammar School 14 (Nathaniel Roache 2, John Tapuelelu tries; Sam Lulia goal).

Halftime: 10-0 Mount Albert.

Warriors Plate

Avondale College 10 (Eucharis Savelio, Tini Toala tries; Perry Kau goal).

Southern Cross Campus 10 (Filipe Taufa, Filigatauivi Tafa tries; Akesi Liaina goal).

Halftime: 6-6.

Henderson High School 10 (Rueben Tupito-Esau, Lofa Tupito-Esau tries; Lofa Tupito-Esau goal).

Tangaroa College 26 (George Nasilai 2, Manatu Teisi, Junior Lisone, Michael Uluakiola tries; Antonio Adams 3 goals).

Halftime: 10-6 Tangaroa.

Papakura High School 26 (Gene Roberts, Frank Toutaiolepo, Arthur Crichton, Foli Waru, Jazz Tevaga tries; Arthur Crichton 3 goals).

Papatoetoe High School 8 (Sam Amituanai, Scotland Leuila tries).

Halftime: 12-0 Papakura.

Warriors Bowl

Western Springs College 22 (Jono Whaikawa 2, Jamie Dennis, Sam Stenson, Paul Heem tries; Tawhio Rogers goal).

Manurewa High School 26 (Jacob Diaz 2, W Vaimaili, Kaiser Lokeni, Manuel Tata-Ngawaka tries; Erin Clarke 3 goals).

Halftime: 16-14 Manurewa.

Rutherford College 5 (James Nonutonu try; James Nonutonu field goal).

Aorere College 38 (Lene Pilitati 4, Marata Niukore 2) Manase Tuilotolava tries; Giovanni Mountain-Silbery 3 goals; Marata Niukore goal; Koseka Taruia goal).

Halftime: 32-1 Aorere.

James Cook High School 16 (Tim Nove 2, Hayden Ikinepe, Joe Taugauli tries).

Mount Roskill Grammar School 8 (Franciscus Semi, Nakala Tulimanu).

Halftime: 12-4 James Cook.