You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competitive contests abounded in fourth-round matches in the inaugural College Rugby League Premier First XIII Competition on Wednesday.

After some one-sided results in the earlier rounds, this weeks nine matches across the three pools were all hard-fought.

Not one team managed to score 30 points this time with the biggest margin being Avondale Colleges 28-4 victory over Rutherford College.

Several of the matches went down to the wire. The much-anticipated encounter between Kelston Boys High School and Westlake Boys High School finished 20-10 in Kelstons favour after Westlake had led 10-8 at halftime.

The tightest battle was played out at Otahuhu College where the home side was edged out 14-10 by Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate while all three Pool B matches were intense affairs.

Tangaroa College had a 22-16 win against Mount Roskill Grammar School while Papatoetoe High School finished strongly to beat Mount Albert Grammar School 24-12 after leading just 14-12 going into the latter stages of the match. And St Pauls College prevailed by the same score against Aorere College but not before Aorere had led 12-4 at halftime.


Tangaroa College prevailed over Mount Roskill Grammar by 22-16 in a thrilling encounter thanks to a try from Jalen Jackson in the dying minutes.

In what must go down as one of the most entertaining games of the season, the lead changed hands no less than five times courtesy of some skilful offloading and hungry support play.

Tangaroa opened the scoring in just the second minute of play when Junior Lisone barged over from close range, having capitalised on a play the ball error from the hosts shortly after the kick-off.

Mount Roskill five-eighth Robey Brown was awarded a crucial 40/20, which provided the field position for Filipo Muavae to cross the chalk. The educated left boot of captain Tualima Tualima ensured the extras were added to give the hosts the lead 6-4.

Shortly before the break, impressive ball-playing second-rower Mike Uluakiola carried a couple of would-be tacklers with him over the line to give Tangaroa the lead 8-6.

Tangaroa front-rower Lisone proved to be a brick wall in defence, initiating four bone-crunching collisions. With that in mind, Mount Roskill directed most of their successful attack down Tangaroas right defensive edge.

It looked as though Tangaroa would rue their inaccurate goal kicking mid-way through the second stanza. A powerful carry from Mount Roskill second-rower Nakala Tuliman produced an offload to his captain Tualima who went over untouched. He duly added the extras to give the hosts a sniff of their first win of the season and a 12-8 lead.

Just minutes later, slick handling down the right edge created space for Tangaroas interchange player Manase Vaipulu to cross for their third of the afternoon. Once again, the extras couldnt be added and the match was locked up at 12-all.

As the game wore on both teams looked to spread the ball wide with good effect and, given both teams were starting to tire, it proved a winning formula. Tangaroa grabbed the lead again with a beautiful flowing movement, which started from well inside their own half. Manatu Teisi was the try scorer with the conversion short once again.

Ken Faaoso showed serious leg strength to barge over from close range for the hosts to lock it all up for the second time in the match before Jacksons try at the death.

The victory moves Tangaroa into the all-important second qualifying position in Pool B after Mt Albert Grammar were beaten 24-12 by Papatoetoe High School, while Mount Roskill sit one point above Aorere College (also beaten 24-12 by St Pauls) in fifth spot.


Henderson High School 26 (R Tupico-Esau 2, M Esera, T Akama, L Tupico-Esau tries; L Tupico-Esau 2 conversion; M Esera conversion).

Western Springs College 8 (T Marama, S Tumu-Makara tries).

Kelston Boys High School 20 (K Blunkell, M Halalova, F Faitotoa, T Leuluai tries; Z Luka 2 conversions).

Westlake Boys High School 10 (J Waterson, W McCarthy tries; B McIntyre conversion).

Rutherford 4 (M Coray try).

Avondale 28 (S Pauli, S Pafalani 2, D Tofare, T Toala, U Ugapo, T Siiha tries; D Tofare conversion; C Eneliko conversion).


Mount Albert Grammar School 12 (C Purcell, A Amani tries; S Lulia 2 conversions).

Papatoetoe High School 24 (K Holi, N Naere, E Sefo, F Autagauia 2 tries; B Edmonds 2 conversions).

Mt Roskill Grammar School 16 (F Muavae, T Tualima, K Faaoso tries; T Tualima 2 conversions).

Tangaroa College 22 (M Teisi, J Lisone, M Uluakiola, J Jackson, M Vaipulu tries; J Jackson conversion).

St Pauls College 24 (P Niua, S Havili, B Afoa, T Tapuaiga tries; S Havili 3 conversion, penalty).

Aorere College 12 (A Stafford, S Tangi tries; A Stafford 2 conversions).


Otahuhu College 10 (W Tauai, J Hunt tries; D Seulea conversion).

Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate 14 (J Mu, R Heather tries; P Loi 2 conversions; P Iongi conversion).

Papakura High School 26 (A Koni, K Vasu, M John, S Malu, T Tuirirangi tries; A Crichton 3 conversions).

Manurewa High School 10 (E Clarke, J Favaoga tries; E Clarke conversion).

Southern Cross Campus 28 (S Siale 2, A Tofi, F Kaveinga, V Ma'amaloa tries A Liaina 4 conversions).

James Cook High School 12 (A Nove 2, J Taugauli tries).
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners