You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Vodafone Warriors centre Konrad Hurrell was an early try-scorer for the Vulcans in the New South Wales Cup today but they were well beaten by Cronulla. Photo: Photosport.

Cronulla put an emphatic end to the Auckland Vulcans hopes of extending their winning run in the New South Wales Cup on Saturday.

On the back of two consecutive wins, the Vulcans took a strong line-up into their contest with the unbeaten competition-leading Sharks.

And aiding their cause was the fact Cronulla was without its experienced general Brett Finch as well as NRL players Maurice Blair and Nathan Gardner.

The early signs generated more hope when a Cronulla error led to a fifth-minute try for Vodafone Warriors centre Konrad Hurrell, his NRL team-mate Harry Siejka converting for a 6-0 lead.

From that point on, though, the traffic was all one way, Cronulla scoring three unanswered tries to go to halftime 18-6 ahead and proving even more ruthless in the second half. Indeed the Sharks scored another five converted tries to take their total to 48 points while a late try to Siejka provided scant consolation.

Despite the result the Vulcans, starting the round in fifth spot, slipped just one spot to sixth and will finish the weekend there if second-placed North Sydney beats the seventh-placed Wests Tigers in the final match of the round on Sunday.

The Vulcans will now return home before travelling to Wellington next weekend where theyll start the triple header for The Capital Clash at Westpac Stadium. They take on bottom-placed Wyong at 3.10pm ahead of the Vodafone Junior Warriors NYC encounter with Canterbury-Bankstown at 5.15pm and the NRL clash between the two sides at 7.35pm.


Match details:

At Henson Park, Sydney

Cronulla Sharks 48 (Pat Politoni 2, Tyrone Peachey 2, Tupou Sopoaga, Chad Townsend, Matthew Wright, Tony Gigot tries; Chad Townsend 8 conversions).

Auckland Vulcans 10 (Konrad Hurrell, Harry Siejka tries; Harry Siejka conversion).

Halftime: 18-6 Sharks.

Referee: Lawrence McDonell.

Vulcans: Glen Fisiiahi; Tangi Ropati, Konrad Hurrell, Atelea Nafetalai, Zoram Watene; Carlos Tuimavave, Harry Siejka; Charlie Gubb, Siliva Havili, Suaia Matagi; John Palavi, Sebastine Ikahihifo; Murray Iti. Interchange: Alehana Mara, Daniel Palavi, Agnatius Paasi, Nathaniel Peteru.
Acknowledgement of Country

The New Zealand Warriors honour the mana of the Indigenous peoples of Aotearoa, Australia and the Pacific. We acknowledge the traditional kaitiaki of the lands, elders past and present, their stories, their traditions, their mamae and their mana motuhake.

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Sponsors

View All Partners